Azienda Agricola Giol

THE CASTLE

The Origins of the Castle

In 996, the Patriarch of Aquileia had a Medieval tower built atop ancient Roman ruins to assert his dominion over the fief of San Polo. Since then, many historic events have occurred and the structure has been expanded numerous times. In the eighteenth century, the tower became a Po Valley-style small castle with rich interior and exterior details. The most recent renovation, in a splendid and unique English Gothic Revival style, was carried out by the Papadopoli Counts in 1850. When Commander Giovanni Giol purchased the entire property in 1919, he decided not to change the architecture, preferring to preserve the original appearance as much as possible.